Beauty pins I’ve tried – eye cream and (non)Petroleum jelly

Part 2 of my beauty pins series, and today I am sharing moisturiser recipes that I have been using. Of course, everyone’s skin is different, and we all have different things we want to address with our moisturisers. So I’ll start by telling you that I have quite an oily, sensitive skin. I have tried many facial moisturisers over the years, most haven’t quite done the job I have been after. So after reading many reports of people using plain oil on their face I tried Coconut Oil. Lovely stuff, but far too heavy for (most of) my skin. Then I tried Macadamia Oil. Gorgeous stuff! But it just wasn’t enough for around my eyes, which felt dry and tight. So when I found this pin for Coconut Oil eye cream I was happy to give it a go: http://ramblingsofahappyhomemaker.blogspot.com.au/2011/11/skin-care-series-eye-cream.html Pam’s recipe uses Coconut Oil and Vitamin E capsules. When I went to the chemist to find some of these capsules they were reasonably expensive, so instead I have been using Vitamin E cream which was a little cheaper. In fact, the cream I have been using contains Vitamin E and Evening Primrose Oil so I feel like I am getting extra benefits! I’m pretty sure it is Redwin brand, but when I went to take a photo I found that the drawer it was in was stuck fast due to the humid weather we have been having. Lucky I don’t need to make up some more for a while! The Coconut Oil I use has come straight from the supermarket shelf. A jar costs around $6. I may look at cheaper places to get this in bulk, but for now this is perfect 🙂 Anyway, I scooped some Coconut Oil into an empty, clean eye cream pot, then added some Vitamin E cream. There was absolutely no measuring, but I would think it was about a 50/50 mix.

Luxurious eye cream, Sawitdidit.wordpress.com

Having quite a large amount of Vitamin E cream saves the mix from turning to a runny mess when it is warm. I find this a perfectly luxurious combination for around my eyes. But I will be happy to try it with capsules when I have finished my tub of Vitamin E cream.

Next on my list is a Vaseline/Petroleum jelly substitute.

The pin I came across was from One Good Thing by Jillee. Check out her blog, she has some amazing things there 🙂

The recipe I was following is here:  http://www.onegoodthingbyjillee.com/2012/04/make-your-own-petroleum-free-jelly.html

Jillee’s recipe uses beeswax pellets and olive oil, however I switched the olive oil for my trusty Coconut Oil. Again, I didn’t bother measuring my ingredients, but I did aim for similar proportions with the beeswax and oil. I melted the beeswax first as it takes longer, then stirred in the coconut oil. Once it was combined it went into a clean empty container to set.

non petroleum jelly. Sawitdidit.wordpress.com

This now sits beside my bed, and I put it on my hands and feet at night.

Have you heard of the benefits of Coconut Oil? In what ways do you use it?

*Linking up with A Tray of Bliss

2 thoughts on “Beauty pins I’ve tried – eye cream and (non)Petroleum jelly

  1. I will have to look for some Vit E cream, I already use coconut oil on my face as a moisturizer,
    so this sounds nice, since we are coming into very hot weather, maybe it will help keep the
    coconut oil from being so runny as you said.
    Thanks for the idea,
    blessings, Nellie

    Like

    • Hi Nellie, coconut oil is so lovely to use, isn’t it? I found it a bit too rich on it’s own on my face, so the addition of Vit E really helped. You will have to play with the ratio of Vit E to coconut, but I’ve found mine worked well. The coconut still melted in the heat, but was easily mixed back in. Let me know how you go!

      Like

Leave a Reply

