Birthday Profiteroles

Today is my friend’s birthday, and during the week I discovered that one of her favourite dishes is Profiteroles. She was actually trying to find out what my favourite cake is, for my upcoming birthday!

Anyway, I decided the time was right to try making these awesome puffs of goodness again. When I posted on my Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/sawitdidit) that I was going to do this, my cousin reminded me that we had made these together when we were much younger!

I pinned this great recipe from Taste.com.au http://www.pinterest.com/pin/26529085279400500/ although I used another recipe for custard and chocolate sauce.

I admit I was a bit nervous, people seem to talk about making choux pastry with hushed voices. But I needn’t have been, it was quite easy although gave my arms a good workout!

Here is the recipe from Taste.com.au:

Ingredients

  • 250ml (1 cup) water
  • 80g butter, at room temperature, chopped
  • 150g (1 cup) plain flour, sifted
  • 3 eggs, at room temperature, lightly whisked

Following their instructions I melted my butter in the water,Profiteroles1removed the saucepan from the heat, tipped in all the flour and mixed it in quickly (stopping to take a photo, of course!)

Profiteroles2After letting the mixture cool for a few a minutes, the beaten eggs were added a little bit at a time.

Profiteroles3It felt like the mixture wouldn’t come back together, but of course it did

profiteroles4

I placed spoonfuls of the dough onto lined baking sheets, and used my wet finger to smooth them down. I also sprinkled water over the trays as per the instructions

profiteroles5Then it was into the oven to bake. I pulled them out after 30 minutes, but they were not quite cooked. So I put them back in for another 5 minutes. profiteroles6

They were beautifully golden on the outside, but still a little doughy inside.

profiteroles7
I remember when mum made them ‘way back when’ she just scooped any uncooked bits out, so that’s what I did. Then I popped them back into the turned off oven to dry out a bit more.

I made some custard and chocolate sauce while I was waiting for the pastry to cool. I waited as long as I could to taste test them, but it really wasn’t that long 😉 The custard and sauce were still hot and runny, but they sure tasted good!

profiteroles8Yesterday afternoon we had a little party where these were served. The custard and sauce were nicely chilled and thickened, and they were delicious!

Happy birthday Yvette x

profiteroles9

So, they really weren’t that difficult to make. They look impressive, and taste just as good. I think they will be on the menu again!
Have you made choux pastry recently?

Leave a Reply

