Yummy Hot Cross Buns

Happy Easter everyone! We are enjoying a beautiful clear, sunny day, which makes a change after seemingly weeks of rain. And we started our day with home-made Hot Cross Buns.

My young son and I first made these buns last Easter.  I am cheating a little as it is not a recipe I found on Pinterest, rather it is from my bread machine recipe book. But it is so good I thought I would share it with you 🙂

It comes from my Panasonic Automatic Breadmaker book:easter1The recipe, along with my notes of what I did differently, is as follows

2 t dry yeast (I used 1 sachet of dried yeast)

475g bread flour (I just use plain flour)

2 t salt (I found ours a touch salty last year so I reduced it to 1 teaspoon)

3 T milk powder

45g butter (I ran out of butter, so used half butter, half oil)

1 3/4 T sugar

1 T orange rind (I added the fresh zest and juice of 1 orange)

1 T mixed spice (I didn’t have any mixed spice, so filled the tablespoon with ginger, nutmeg and cinnamon)

300 ml water (reduced by roughly the amount of orange juice, I didn’t measure it)

1 egg

1 cup mixed fruit (I used sultanas, cranberries and dates chopped into sultana-sized bits)

Use raisin dough setting. 

Divide the dough into 10 or 12 equal portions. Roll each portion into a ball and rest for 20 mins.

Shape into a smooth ball by gently rolling, and place on a greased tray.

Cover and leave to rise for 30 mins or until doubled in size.

Put crosses on dough – 1/2 cup flour mixed with 2 T oil, add water to make stiff paste.

Bake in preheated 200C oven for 15-20 mins or until golden brown.

Brush with glaze – 3T milk and 3T caster sugar boiled until syrupy.

*I have never used bread flour for baking bread products. A tip I use is to add a splash of vinegar to the liquid component. You could add a commercial bread improver, but a main ingredient of that is vinegar anyway.

*I found the dough quite wet so didn’t bother trying to roll it into smooth neat balls. I just pulled bits off and put them into a square cake tin. Make sure you wet your hands so the dough doesn’t stick to them.

*I only let it rise once after dividing it into portions.

Here are all the ingredients ready to go:

easter2This is to show you how wet and sticky the dough is. I did actually wet my hands so it didn’t stick as badly as this
easter3So I forgot to take photos of the crosses being piped, and the glaze. But you don’t really want to see every little step, do you?? Here are the finished buns with melting butter which we had this morning
easter4So, what did the family think? A picture is worth a thousand words, or so they say 🙂
easter5
What are you doing this Easter? I wish you all a safe and happy time with loved ones x

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Yummy Hot Cross Buns

  1. Pingback: Easter Hat time | Saw it, pinned it, did it!

Leave a Reply

