Three ingredient pre-wash stain remover

Today I am going to share how I make this very easy, effective and cheap pre-wash stain remover.

I found it on Simple Savings which is fantastic website absolutely packed full of amazing information. You do need to be a member to access most of the information, so I can’t give you a direct link to the post.

In the meantime, I do have a Pinterest board with plenty of other hints and tips: http://www.pinterest.com/fifi234/organisation-cleaning/

So, the recipe for this spray is really simple.

2 cups of water

1 (or 2) capful of liquid wool wash

2 tablespoons cloudy ammonia

Easy pre-wash stain remover

Pour into a spray bottle and you’re done! Cloudy ammonia is very strong smelling so I do this outside. It doesn’t matter as to the quality of the ingredients. I use generic brand cloudy ammonia, and the cheapest wool wash I could find. Both items you can find in the cleaning aisle of your supermarket for a couple of dollars each.

Just spray it on your stain, leave for 15 minutes, then wash. And the 15 minute waiting time is optional. I rarely do that 😉

I have found this effective on most everyday stains although some have taken 2 treatments. Chocolate (old stain) and the yucky yellow stain from sunscreen come to mind as needing a double spray/wash. Quite often a small residual stain will disappear after being hung out to dry in the sun. The sun is very helpful 🙂

I have had no trouble using it on whites as well as brights, but I would recommend doing a spot test before using it on anything you may be unsure of.

So, what do you think – will you give it a go?

I have a couple of other cleaning recipes I use regularly and I will share them soon…

3 thoughts on “Three ingredient pre-wash stain remover

  1. Pingback: The best homemade household cleaner | Saw it, pinned it, did it!

  2. Pingback: See what happened when I used a commercial stain remover :( | Saw it, pinned it, did it!

  3. Pingback: Keeping your whites white (and other laundry tips)! | Saw it, pinned it, did it!

Leave a Reply

