Not Too Scary Halloween Zombie Child

I did forget to take photos during the character creating process, but here’s how I created my Not Too Scary Halloween Zombie Child 🙂

When I was searching Pinterest for inspiration, I was surprised by the ‘scariness’ of supposed kid-friendly Halloween make-up. I just don’t understand it… and that’s all I should probably say on the subject.

But using some of the techniques I found and pinned, we were able to come up with a costume that we were all happy with.

I lightened his face by brushing with cornflour (which didn’t really work) and talcum powder (which gave a tiny amount of lightness). Then I added a charcoal colour around his eyes, the creases of his nose, around his mouth, and around the hair- and chin-line, and blended it in. We added no scars, blood or anything else from the gore department. His hair was gelled and messed up.

Halloween zombie boy . sawitdidit.wordpress.com

We found some shorts that had some holes already and added rips. The t-shirt was too small and due to be donated to the op shop, so it got ripped as well. He had fun jumping around on the shorts and shirt in the dirt!

Apologies for these photos, I took them on my phone just before we left to go to our friends’ house.

zombie boy 1 . sawitdidit.wordpress.com

And that’s it! Costume created!

2 thoughts on “Not Too Scary Halloween Zombie Child

  1. Pingback: Halloween Playlist | Saw it, Pinned it, Did it!

  2. Pingback: Halloween 2015 | Saw it, pinned it, did it!

Leave a Reply

