Cartoon Nails

I was perusing my Pinterest boards recently, wondering what I should try next, when I found this pin of cute cartoon-style nails on my aptly titled Nails board ūüėČ

And since I have only done plain colours on my nails lately, it was time for something a little more interesting!

First up, I will apologise for the poor quality pictures in this post, some worse than others. I find it very difficult to¬†photograph my own nails! Something for me¬†to work on…

To create this look (not perfectly, but not too bad), I used these polishes:

Cutex 2 in 1 base coat

Essence Colour & Go Black is Back 59

Lacura (Aldi) Nail Salon Gel effect (which doesn’t have the name of the colour listed on the bottle. But it came in a pack with the Top Coat)

Sally Hansen Superstrong Micro-Fiber Base Coat (it’s white, so I use it as a colour)

Lacura (Aldi) Nail Salon Gel Effect Top Coat

After applying my base coat, I put on one coat of black. Remember how I shared why I don’t take much care when applying polish?

Cartoon nails black

Usually I would apply two coats, but since you will only see the very edges of this colour in the finished design, it wasn’t necessary.

You may notice some small spots of pink – I did do a test nail to see how it would work!

Once that was dry, I added 2 coats of the bright pink, leaving a border around the edge of my nails showing the black. I did paint right to the tips of my nails, as it would have been far too fussy to try and leave a border there as well. I was surprised the pink looks so good on the black, I thought it would lose some brightness

Cartoon nails pink

I quite like this look, and considered not adding more black to the tips, maybe next time.

Then it was a matter of painting on the white light reflections, which look a bit rougher than I’d like. A much finer brush would fix that, but I just used the brush that was in the bottle. Maybe one of those nail polish pens would work, but I haven’t tried any of those!

Adding black tips was the final touch, followed by my top coat

Cartoon nails messy

Doesn’t look very neat? Wouldn’t leave the house with your nails looking like this?

Here they are the next morning, after I’ve rubbed off the unwanted bits of black in the shower

Cartoon nails

I think they look quite effective, and I would be happy to do this manicure again. A different colour next time, I think!

Check my other manicures here, or click the ‘Nails’ tab at the top of the page.

Linking up with:

21 Rosemary Lane – Share Your Style, Too Much Time on My Hands – The Handmade Hangout,¬†Have a Daily Cup of Mrs Olson – Share Your Cup, Organised 31 – This is How We Roll, Sincerely, Paula – No Rules Weekend Blog Party, The Life of Jennifer Dawn – A Little Bird Told Me,¬†The Pin Junkie, Life With Lorelei – Home Matters, Shoestring Elegance – What to Do Weekends,¬†Raising Fairies and Knights – Bloggers Spotlight, Tatertots and Jello – Best Friday Features, Simply Sweet Home – Friday Features, Oh My Heartsie Girl – Friday Features,¬†Strawberry Butterscotch – Saturday Shuffle, Little Miss Celebration – Best of the Weekend,¬†Nifty Thrifty Things, Love of Home – Sundays at Home, My Husband Has Too Many Hobbies – Brag About it, My Husband Has Too Many Hobbies – Snickerdoodle Create, Make, Bake, DIY 180 – Dishing It and Digging It, That Recipe – Happiness is Homemade, Plucky’s Second Thought – Cooking and Crafting With J&J, My Pinterventures – Merry Monday, Claire Justine – Creative Mondays, Claire Justine – Wednesday Blog Hop, Create With Joy – Inspire Me Monday, I Should Be Mopping the Floor – Inspiration Monday, Yesterday on Tuesday – Project Inspired, The DIY Mommy – The Creative Corner, Lou Lou Girls, Our Home Away From Home – Tuesdays at Our Home, The Dedicated House – Make it Pretty Monday, Pocketful of Posies – Dream. Create. Inspire,1 The DIY Dreamer – From Dream to Reality, Oh My Heartsie Girl – Wonderful Wednesday,¬†Savvy Southern Style – Wow us Wednesdays,

2 thoughts on “Cartoon Nails

  1. Wow, I’ve not seen anyone with nails like these, but what a fun idea! Thanks for sharing at Brag About It. Pinned to share!

    Like

Leave a Reply

