Winter Door Wreath

It’s got decidedly wintery here lately! And since I’ve taken down our Easter wreath (scroll to the bottom to see a pic of our wreath), I’ve been wanting a new, winter one to put up.

Perusing Pinterest gave me some inspiration, but I was wanting a wreath that doesn’t include snow/snowflakes/ice etc. It doesn’t get that cold here in Sydney, Australia!

I remembered a Christmas wreath that we made many years ago, but haven’t used for a long time. It has a base of greenery, and that was just what I was looking for. It just needed to be de-Christmassed 🙂

Wreath before

You can see that the tinsel was well worn, and the greenery is flattened. So it all got removed, and the greenery fluffed up.

I had picked up a few small pinecones when out walking, and located a selection of unused fake flowers that were floating around the house. They would be my decorations.

I set them out, to choose what colour combo would work…

Wreath flowers and pinecones

…and picked red and white

Wreath red and white flowers

I thought it would be easier to wire everything, rather than hot gluing, so attached wire as best I could.

Then it was a matter of playing with combinations and arrangements…

Wreath options

…until I found something I liked. It was easy to wind the wire around the wreath to keep everything in place.

Wreath finished

If I come across some more little pinecones, I think I will probably add them on, but for now I think it looks lovely on our front door.

Wreath on door

And all made from things we already had at home, along with pinecones collected from the neighbourhood. Can’t get better than that!

Linking up with:

21 Rosemary Lane – Share Your Style, Nifty Thrifty Things, Love of Home – Sundays at Home, My Husband Has Too Many Hobbies – Snickerdoodle Create, Bake, Make, That Recipe – Happiness is Homemade, Coombe Mill – Trash 2 Treasure, Plucky’s Second Thought – Cooking and Crafting With J&J, My Pinterventures – Merry Monday, Claire Justine – Creative Mondays, Claire Justine – Wednesday Blog Hop, Create With Joy – Inspire Me Monday, I Should Be Mopping the Floor – Inspiration Monday, Yesterday on Tuesday – Project Inspired,  The DIY Mommy – The Creative Corner, My Husband Has Too Many Hobbies – Brag About it, DIY 180 – Digging It and Dishing It, Lou Lou Girls Fabulous Party, Being a Wordsmith – Turn it up Tuesday, Cedar Hill Farmhouse – The Scoop, Pocketful of Posies – Dream. Create. Inspire, The DIY Dreamer – From Dream to Reality, Oh My Heartsie Girl – Wonderful Wednesday, Savvy Southern Style – Wow us Wednesdays,

5 thoughts on “Winter Door Wreath

  1. I love the idea of a wreath for every season. I must get my thinking hat on for a summer wreath here as the gardens are looking so colourful right now. I do like the thought of winter without the really low temperatures with you, I expect it isn’t so different to our summer! I hope your wreath lasts you through to spring, it is a lovely burst of winter colour.

    Thank you for sharing on #Trash2Treasure

    Like

  2. Your makeover looks fantastic! The bells were adorable but the new florals and bow give it an elegant update. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

