Pokemon Party Prop – DIY Photo Booth Frame

We’ve just had our son’s birthday party, and this year we had a Pokémon Go theme. That is probably not much of a surprise to regular readers!

I will be sharing bits and pieces from the party over the next few blog posts, but I thought I’d start with the photo booth frame prop. It never ceases to surprise me how much boys love having their photo taken in a custom-made frame!

The first time I included a photo frame in his party was 4 years ago, and that was a Pokémon party too!! But that time I didn’t customize the frame at all…

pokemon party the first one

What sweet faces!

It is not difficult to decorate a frame in the theme of your party, and it looks so much better!

Here’s what I did:

Taking inspiration from a couple of ideas I spotted on Pinterest (I pinned them here and here), I decided to check exactly what the ‘catch’ page looked like on Pokémon Go currently. So I went for a quick walk up the road to where a Pokémon was waiting…took a screenshot..then caught that Geodude, of course!

Pokemon Screenshot_2017-05-24-11-57-13

Picking the important parts, I chose to go with the small Razz Berry and Pokeball, the large Pokeball, and also added a Pokémon Go logo at the top.

Rather than drawing all the bits freehand, I downloaded the various pics, printed them, and cut them out. Why didn’t I think of this before!!

Taking my trusty frame, I laid it on top of my cardboard so I could work out the size. You may notice that it is used cardboard. You’re hardly going to see the back, and most of it will be cut away, so there is no point using a brand new piece if an old one is available.

pokemon photo frame

Then it was just a matter of laying my pictures out to see where they would go, and marking those spots.

Pokemon photo frame 2

Cut out the middle, give it a paint, glue on the details, and attach it to the frame (I just used craft glue)…done!

Pokemon photo frame 3

At the party, the boys took turns having individual photos, small groups, and I took one with all the party goers together

Pokemon photo frame 4

Pokemon photo frame group

It’s a great way to get some unique party photos!

Check out the one I made last year for our Harry Potter party here. And you can see my other party posts here.

Linking up with:

Plucky’s Second Thought – Cooking and Crafting with J&J, My Pinterventures – Merry Monday, Claire Justine – Creative Mondays, Create With Joy – Inspire me Monday, I Should be Mopping the Floor – Inspiration Monday, Yesterday on Tuesday – Project Inspired, The DIY Mommy – The Creative Corner, My Husband Has Too Many Hobbies – Brag About it, DIY180 – Dishing It and Digging It, Lou Lou Girls Fabulous Party, Being a Wordsmith – Turn it up Tuesday, Cedar Hill Farmhouse – The Scoop, Pocketful of Posies – Dream. Create. Inspire, The DIY Dreamer – From Dream to Reality, Oh My Heartsie Girl – Wonderful Wednesday, Savvy Southern Style – Wow us Wednesdays, Claire Justine – Wednesday Blog Hop, 21 Rosemary Lane – Share Your Style, Organized 31 – This is How we Roll,  Sincerely, Paula – No Rules Weekend Blog Hop, Twin Dragonfly Designs – The Handmade Hangout, The Pin Junkie, Life With Lorelei – Home Matters, Shoestring Elegance – What to do Weekends, Raising Fairies and Knights – Bloggers Spotlight, Simply Sweet Home – Friday Favourites,  Tatertots and Jello – Best Friday Features, Oh My Heartsie Girl – Friday Features, The Sits Girls – Saturday Sharefest, Strawberry Butterscotch – Saturday Shuffle, Little Miss Celebration – Best of the Weekend, Nifty Thrifty Things, Love of Home – Sundays at Home, My Husband Has Too Many Hobbies – Snickerdoodle Create, Bake, Make, That Recipe – Happiness is Homemade, The DIY Showoff – That DIY Party, Mother2Mother – Sunday’s Best,

 

11 thoughts on “Pokemon Party Prop – DIY Photo Booth Frame

  1. Pingback: Week 129 Sunday's Best Linkup

  2. Pingback: We the People: Sunday's Best Linkup - A Mama Tale

  3. Pingback: Sunday's Best Linkup - #129 - mother2motherblog

  4. Pingback: Pokemon Go party – the games | Saw it, Pinned it, Did it!

Leave a Reply

