Chilli Jam

There is really only one chilli eater in our house, and it’s not me! But I always have dried chilli flakes in the cupboard, and when I get fresh chillies they go straight into the freezer whole. It’s easy to cut a bit off a frozen chilli when required.

Recently I got a bag of chillies. When I suggested to the chilli eater that I might try making them into some sort of jam or relish, he said just dry them because he wouldn’t eat it. Well, as if that’s going to stop me!!

So I took to Pinterest looking for a recipe that was simple, and only used a small number of ingredients that I already had at home. I found and pinned this one. It’s on my Yum! board. And wouldn’t you know it, it’s an Aldi recipe!

The only problem was that I didn’t want the jam to be sweet. I know, it’s part of the definition… So the first batch I made, I used a lot less sugar than the recipe called for. And you know what? It was delicious! Just a hint of sweetness, and a good amount of kick.

Our resident chilli eater loves it, and even I’ve been putting it on a lot of my meals. It’s good to add some chilli to meals in winter 🙂

So, here’s how I made it:

65g chillies

1 medium onion

2 cloves garlic

125ml water

200g white sugar (original recipe has 400g)

juice of one lemon (original recipe uses lime, either is fine)

80ml vinegar (original recipe specifies Bramwells Malt vinegar – I used what I had, plain white and/or Apple Cider.)

*Peel and roughly the chop the onion and garlic, and roughly chop the chillies.

*Place in a food processor and blend until finely chopped.

*To a large saucepan, add the water, sugar, lemon, and vinegar. Add the chilli mix.

*Bring to the boil slowly until the sugar has dissolved, then simmer gently until the mixture becomes thick and syrupy. Original recipe says allow around 30 minutes. I didn’t take note of how long I cooked it.

*Pour into a container and allow to cool. Store in the fridge.

chilli jam cooking

The first time I made this I used lemon juice as per the recipe. When I made it again last week (because we had almost finished the first batch) I tossed in a lemon I had already juiced for something else. Worked perfectly well 🙂

Be aware that if you put your head over the pot while it is cooking, you will regret it. Those fumes…!! And when I was taste-testing it brought tears to my eyes. But once cooled, and eaten in moderation, it is very more-ish.

Also, if you cook it too long and it becomes too thick (like I did the first time) just add a bit more water to bring it back.

Even though I have listed 200g of sugar, I would have used a bit less than that. When adding sugar to any recipe I never quite fill my measuring cup.

The recipe makes around 380g of chilli jam

chilli jam

I keep ours in a plastic container in the fridge. I’m sure you can pour it into sterilised jars to keep in the pantry. My first batch lasted about 3 weeks, and was still perfectly good at the end of that time. If I made a bigger amount, I would divide it into smaller portions and keep it in the freezer.

When making the first batch, I removed quite a lot of the chilli seeds in an effort to minimise the heat. I’ve just planted some, since this has become quite a hit in our house and it would be good to have lots of chilli plants growing. The only problem is that any chilli plants I’ve had in the past have been eaten almost immediately by the wildlife :/ I’ll have to see what I can do about that…

I topped my jacket potato with (light) sour cream, a good spoonful of freshly made chilli jam, and parsley from the garden for my lunch

chilli jam on jacket potato

It has also been delicious with cheese and crackers, or drizzled over any kind of meat. Use as spread on a sandwich, bread roll or burger. Swirl it through some soup. I’m a chilli jam convert!

And our resident chilli eater said when he’s had chilli jam before it’s always been more ‘jam’ than ‘chilli’ and that was why he didn’t want me to make some. This one is not. So he’s happy.

Linking up with:

Twin Dragonfly Designs – The Handmade Hangout, The Pin Junkie, Life With Lorelei – Home Matters, Shoestring Elegance – What to do Weekends, Tatertots and Jello – Best Friday Features, Raising Fairies and Knights – Bloggers Spotlight, Simply Sweet Home – Friday Favorites, Strawberry Butterscotch – Saturday Shuffle, Oh My Heartsie Girl – Friday Features, Little Miss Celebration – Best of the Weekend, The Sits Girls – Saturday Sharefest, Nifty Thrifty Things, Love of Home – Sundays at Home, My Husband Has Too Many Hobbies – Snickerdoodle Create. Make. Bake, That Recipe – Happiness is Homemade,

3 thoughts on “Chilli Jam

Leave a Reply

