DIY Rustic Planter Boxes

There’s a space down the bottom of our garden that I have earmarked for some garden beds. And since there is nothing planted there at the moment (apart from weeds), there is a chance that whatever does go there will have a small chance to grow before the wildlife discovers it!

We even started making some planters to go in the space.

But, I am still waiting for it to be cleared out and made ready…

So recently I pulled out 2 of the planters that have been made and decided to pot them up. What’s the point of them sitting around! And I thought I’d share how they were made 🙂

Who hasn’t got some old fence palings hanging around? And if not, you are sure to see some whenever there is a council clean-up, or a house being demolished… These are in the spot that I want to become a garden.

fence palings

These are very old, and very well seasoned.

I did wonder about them being chemically treated, and a quick internet search tells me that many are. But the ‘old’ ones weren’t, and the newer ones are no longer treated with arsenic. Some may just be heat-treated. This is the same as pallets. Just be aware!

If you are not sure how your palings have been treated, perhaps only grow flowers in them. Or you could instead make them taller and pop plastic pots inside them.

I didn’t do more in depth research regarding what years ‘old’ and ‘new’ refer to, as I am quite sure our palings fall into the ‘old’ category.

We made up a very simple pattern; roughly 2 palings each side, and 2 palings across the bottom. Some other off-cut timber was used for the ends. Cut to size, and screwed together for strength. I didn’t take any photos of the construction process, my boys did this together while I wasn’t home 🙂

planters from fence palings

You can see there’s space between the palings for drainage.

Just for fun, here is the site manager doing his inspection

Planter collage

I have a few herb cuttings sitting in water in my kitchen, a couple ready to be planted. So what better time to pull these planters out and get them working! I’ll be waiting forever for my chosen space to be ready…

Here’s one with fresh potting mix and mulch, in a sunny position on the edge of our deck. I think it’s a good spot for the moment!

planter box

Here’s a little basil cutting nestled in the mulch

basil cutting

How’s that for a bit of trash to treasure!

Linking up with:

Mother2Mother – Sunday’s Best, Nifty Thrifty Things, Love of Home – Sundays at Home, My Husband Has Too Many Hobbies – Snickerdoodle Create, Bake, Make, That Recipe – Happiness is Homemade, DIY Show-off – That DIY Party, Plucky’s Second Thought – Cooking and Crafting With J&J, My Pinterventures – Merry Monday, Claire Justine – Creative Mondays, Create With Joy – Inspire Me Monday, I Should Be Mopping the Floor – Inspiration Monday, The DIY Mommy – The Creative Corner, DIY180 – Dishing It and Digging It, My Husband Has Too Many Hobbies – Snickerdoodle Create, Make, Bake, The Dedicated House – Make it Pretty Monday, Cedar Hill Farmhouse – The Scoop, Little Bits of Home – Dream. Create. Inspire, The DIY Dreamer – From Dream to Reality, Oh My Heartsie Girl – Wonderful Wednesday, Oh My Heartsie Girl – Friday Features, Claire Justine – Wednesday Blog Hop, Claire Justine – Weekend Blog Hop, The Life Of Jennifer Dawn – A Little Bird Told Me, My Husband Has Too Many Hobbies – Brag About it, Lou Lou Girls Fabulous Party, Savvy Southern Style – Wow us Wednesday,

6 thoughts on “DIY Rustic Planter Boxes

  1. Pingback: 12 Summer Inspired Farmhouse Decor Ideas - Twelve On Main

Leave a Reply

