Easy DIY Plant Markers

We’ve just enjoyed two weeks of school holidays, where we caught up with friends and family and generally had some ‘down time’. Now we are up and running with term 4!

I’ve mentioned before how challenging it is to grow edible things in my garden. The nasty little green caterpillars I can deal with easily enough, it’s the possums, bandicoots, and wild rabbits that are a bit harder! I’ve been wanting a raised garden bed for a while, and one day I discovered some serious work had begun… here are a couple of progress photos…

new garden 1

new garden2

This section of the backyard is between the garage and a shed, and gets a lot of sun. It seemed the perfect spot (to me) for a garden, however it was being used as a bit of a storage facility. I’ve been able to reclaim some of it… ;-/

Whilst I would have been very happy to have it all made from recycled materials, the ‘man in charge’ insisted on using purchased sleepers for the frame. However the rest of it is recycled – the tin lining the sides, the wire trellis, and the fly-screen doors (only one large door now) was from an incorrectly made order and were being disposed of.

It’s not quite finished, but I have started planting. I moved a few little plants that hadn’t been doing so well in the main garden, and they are thriving so far! I also have some seeds starting, they will go in when they are ready.

But I knew I would start to forget what and where I had planted, so I needed some markers. There are so many ideas out there! I pinned just a couple to my Pinterest Garden board.

At my son’s birthday party earlier this year, we used some large popsicle sticks for one of the games. Mostly I just threw them away at the end of the party, but I kept some. And they seemed rather perfect for this project!

I started by cutting a point at one end. I learnt that it is best to cut from the side of the stick to the bottom, and they are less likely to split.

plant marker1

I gave each stick 2 coats of paint, and pencilled in what I wanted to write. Knowing that the sealer I was going to use would make permanent marker run (from our rock painting) I found a fine brush and painted the letters. I was considering printing the letters on to paper and gluing to the sticks so I could get a fancier font…maybe next time. Will have to test to see if that ink runs too.

Anyway, here they are after painting. You can tell which ones I cut from the bottom lol. I just need to rub out the pencil marks, and seal them.

plant marker2

The sealer was just an old tin we had in the garage. It’s actually concrete sealer (I have absolutely no idea why we would have that!). I’m hoping that makes these, and our painted rocks, able to stand up to various weather conditions.

Once dry, into the garden they went!

plant marker3

plant marker4

plant marker7

I’ll have to remember to get another packet of popsicle sticks when I next go shopping. And I might try painting some different colours!

These really were very easy to do. They would make a great personalised addition to a garden-themed Christmas gift!

Linking up with:

21 Rosemary Lane – Share Your Style, Have a Daily Cup of Mrs Olson – Share Your Cup, Organized 31 – This is How We Roll, Sincerely, Paula – No Rules Weekend Party, Twin Dragonfly Designs – The Handmade Hangout, Life With Lorelei – Home Matters, Shoestring Elegance – What to do Weekends, Raising Fairies and Knights – Bloggers Spotlight, Coffee With Us 3 – Pretty Pintastic Party, Oh My Heartsie Girl – Friday Features, Strawberry Butterscotch – Saturday Shuffle, Hello Little Home – Best of the Weekend, 21 Rosemary Lane – Share Your Style, Have a Daily Cup of Mrs Olson – Share Your Cup, Organized 31 – This is How We Roll, The DIY Dreamer – From Dream to Reality, Oh My Heartsie Girl – Wonderful Wednesday, Savvy Southern Style – Wow us Wednesday, Claire Justine – Wednesday Blog Hop, Lou Lou Girls, Our Home Away From Home – Tuesdays at Our Home, The Mrs Tee – Mommy Monday, The Dedicated House – Make it Pretty Monday, Cedar Hill Farmhouse – The Scoop,

3 thoughts on “Easy DIY Plant Markers

Leave a Reply

