Nuts and Bolts – a delicious savoury snack!

After making marshmallows to give for Christmas, I was looking for a crunchy savoury snack to go with it.

I remembered my friend Annabel posting about Nuts and Bolts on her blog. Mum used to make this when we were much younger (was it the 70s? Perhaps the 80s?) and I don’t think I’ve eaten it since then. I’m sure the recipe was printed on the side of the Nutri-grain box. Obviously it’s time for a revival! A perfect partner to the soft pillowy-ness of homemade marshmallows 🙂

I did a bit of research on the subject, since Annabel doesn’t bake her mix but I’m sure I remember mum doing that. I found quite a number of variations, some baked some not. It seems a popular flavour combination is Worcestershire Sauce with a huge amount of melted butter (plus a few other ingredients).

I think Annabel’s version (same as mum’s) is just a little healthier. It is a very versatile recipe and can easily be adjusted to use what you have (or don’t have) on hand.

300g Nutri-grain 
375 g peanuts or other nuts or mixed nuts. I use salted.
375g sultanas.
1 pack French onion soup
1 pack Cream of chicken soup 
1 teaspoon curry powder
1 teaspoon mustard powder.
3/4 cup warmed olive oil
Mix in a large bowl. Stir few times as you can.

I went with Annabel’s suggestion to use a whole box of Nutri-grain, and double the rest of the ingredients. This made a huge amount, and I shared it with many friends and family. Some of my friends had never heard of or tasted it before. They looked at it a little oddly – wondering about the taste sensation of a sweet cereal mixed with spices – but all decided it was very ‘more-ish’!

Of course, I put my own take on the recipe:

Instead of using a packet of Chicken soup, I substituted some chicken stock powder.

Maybe my tastebuds weren’t working very well, but when I tried some I couldn’t taste much spice. So I looked through my pantry to see what I could add, and I found a packet of Tom Yum noodle soup. So I threw that in, sieving out the instant noodles. It was a delicious addition!

I didn’t include any dried fruit. I did consider adding some craisins (dried cranberries) to give it a Christmassy feel, but didn’t think that would go terribly well with the Tom Yum.

I also added some pretzel sticks, left over from my Melting Snowman cupcakes.

If I’d been able to find unsalted mixed nuts I would have used them. I feel there’s more than enough salt in the other ingredients. But using salted nuts doesn’t make this overly salty, so use what you have 🙂

I mixed all the ingredients together well, then baked them for about 10 minutes in a moderate oven. Once cool, store it in an air-tight container.

I made another batch recently, but this time I didn’t bake it. It doesn’t seem to made any difference to the end result, so I’ll not bother with the baking step again!

Nuts and Bolts sawitdidit.wordpress.com

This really is a very easy snack to make, and very delicious. Thanks, Annabel, for reminding me of this treat that mum used to make!

For gifting, I wrapped empty, clean jars with some Christmas paper and filled them. I don’t seem to have taken any photos of those ;(

Nuts and Bolts savoury snack

Have you tried this before?

Linking up with:

To Simply Inspire – The Mommy Club, 21 Rosemary Lane – Share Your Style, Posed Perfection – Creative Ways, Have a Daily Cup of Mrs Olsen – Share Your Cup, Crafty Wife – The Wednesday Roundup, Lamberts Lately – Create it Thursday, Savvy Southern Style – Wow us Wednesdays, Wondermom Wannabe – This is How We Roll, Too Much Time on my Hands – The Handmade Hangout, The Pin Junkie, Love Bakes Good Cakes – Freedom Fridays, Shoestring Elegance – What to do Weekends, Oh My Heartsie Girl – Friday Features, Oh My Heartsie Girl – Wonderful Wednesday, Life With Lorelei – Home Matters, Domestic Superhero – Pinworthy Projects, Cedar Hill Farmhouse – The Scoop, The DIY Dreamer – From Dream to Reality, Tatertots and Jello, 24 Cottonwood Lane – Best of the Weekend, The Pinterested Parent – Sunday’s Best, The Interior Frugalista – DIY Sunday Showcase, Thoughts From Alice – Sundays at Home, Sadie Seasongoods – Snickerdoodle Sunday, Julie’s Lifestyle – Cooking and Crafting With J&J, Claire Justine – Creative Mondays, Create With Joy – Inspire me Monday, I Should be Mopping the Floor – Inspiration Monday, The Foley Fam – Sunday Funday, Pastels and Macarons – Creative Corner, Yesterday on Tuesday – Project InspiredYesterday on Tuesday – Project Inspired, My Pinterventures – Merry Monday, Lou Lou Girls, Merry About Town – Monday Funday, Kathe With an E – You’re Gonna Love it, Our Home Away From Home – Tuesdays at Our Home, Cozy Little House – Tweak it Tuesday, Tip Junkie – Tip me Tuesday, The Dedicated House – Make it Pretty Monday, Cedar Hill Farmhouse – The Scoop, The DIY Dreamer – From Dream to Reality,1 The Life of Jennifer Dawn – A Little Bird Told Me, That Recipe – Tasty Tuesdays, A Tray of Bliss – Five Star Frou Frou,

14 thoughts on “Nuts and Bolts – a delicious savoury snack!

  1. Oh, interesting! My mom always make nuts and bolts at Christmas while I was growing up, and this year I made my own. Our recipe is very different from yours though. I’m interested in trying out some of those spices. Sounds yummy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Grace, yes some of the recipes I found from other countries were quite different to what I remember (and have since made several times now!) mum making. It really is so very more-ish! x Fiona

      Like

  2. Pingback: Homemade Marshmallows – these really are the best! | Saw it, pinned it, did it!

  3. Pingback: Microwave Fudge | Saw it, pinned it, did it!

  4. Pingback: Our Aussie Bush Christmas | Saw it, pinned it, did it!

Thanks for visiting my blog! I'd love to know what you think of my posts, so please leave a comment xx Fiona

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.