Scarf organisation

It’s been a bit quiet around here, sorry about that. I have no excuses!

Today I have a very quick and easy way to organise your scarves. Most likely you all do this already, and I am only just catching up…

I wasn’t always a scarf wearer. I really dislike things around my neck. I never wear a polo neck top for that reason. I also don’t even like a high round-neck top. (Please note – I have no problems with anyone else choosing to wear these things that I don’t!) But after a few winters of walking to and from school, watching soccer training and weekly games, and sitting beside the outdoor swimming pool, I couldn’t take being cold any longer. So I joined the ranks of scarf wearers!

I now have a reasonable collection of scarves in various colours and textures. You can’t be seen to be wearing the same one two days in a row, can you now lol

The back of my bedroom door very conveniently has a couple of hooks on which I hang my coat, my dressing gown, and the main scarves I wear regularly. They sit there all year behind the door, out of the way.

Scarves

But they don’t look very tidy, and it can be annoying pulling one out from the bottom of the pile.

I’m sure I’ve seen this idea on Pinterest, however I’ve never pinned it. It just occurred to me when I was shopping this morning that I should pick up one of those shoe organisers and store them in that. I think the idea I’ve seen is to use a pocket-type shoe organiser, but I wasn’t sure some of my thicker scarves would fit in a pocket.

So, for just $8.50 in KMart, I picked up a shelf-type shoe organiser; one that hangs inside your wardrobe from the clothes rail. I have 15 scarves installed in this organiser so far.

Neat scarves

I neatly rolled the scarves up which will keep them looking smarter. It will be so much easier to access the one I want.

Even though we are have just started Autumn here in Australia, today is the first day that has been cool. And it’s rained for the first time in I don’t know how long! So perhaps it won’t be too long before I can test out just how convenient this ‘new’ system is 🙂

Scarf organisation

I am feeling like I’ve done a very good job organising the mess that was hiding behind my bedroom door. Even if it was only a 5 minute job… Virtual pat on the back for me!

What great ideas do you have for organising scarves?

Linking up with:

Table and Hearth – DIY Like a Boss, Average But Inspired – The DIY Collective, Milk and Cuddles – The Mommy Linkup, 21 Rosemary Lane – Share Your Style, Too Much Time on my Hands – The Handmade Hangout, Posed Perfection – Creative Ways, Have a Daily Cup of Mrs Olsen – Share Your Cup, Lamberts Lately – Create it Thursday, Domesblissity – Thriving on Thursdays, Wondermom Wannabe – This is How We Roll, Sincerely, Paula – No Rules Weekend Blog Party, The Life of Jennifer Dawn – A Little Bird Told Me, Love Bakes Good Cakes – Freedom Fridays, The Pin Junkie, Life With Lorelei – Home Matters, Shoestring Elegance – What to do Weekends, Raising Fairies and Knights – Bloggers Spotlight, A Tray of Bliss – Five Star Frou Frou, Strawberry and Butterscotch – Saturday Shuffle,  24 Cottonwood Lane – Best of the Weekend, The Interior Frugalista – DIY Sunday Showcase, Nifty Thrifty Things, Thoughts From Alice – Sundays at Home, My Husband Has Too Many Hobbies – Brag About it, Plucky’s Second Thought – Cooking and Crafting With J&J, My Pinterventures – Merry Monday, Claire Justine – Creative Mondays, Create With Joy – Inspire me Monday, I Should be Mopping the Floor – Inspiration Monday, The Foley Fam – Dream, Create, Inspire, Yesterday on Tuesday – Project Inspired, Pastels and Macarons – The Creative Corner, Lou Lou Girls, Kathe With an E – You’re Gonna Love it, Our Home Away From Home – Tuesdays at Our Home, Cozy Little House – Tweak it Tuesday, Ramblings of a (Bad) Domestic Goddess – Turn it up Tuesday, The Dedicated House – Make it Pretty Monday, Cedar Hill Farmhouse – The Scoop, The DIY Dreamer – From Dream to Reality, Oh My Heartsie Girl – Wonderful Wednesday, Savvy Southern Style – Wow us Wednesday, The Crafty Wife – The Wednesday Roundup,

11 thoughts on “Scarf organisation

  1. Pingback: Thriving on Thursdays - Linky Party # 175 - Domesblissity

  2. Hi Fiona! I went through a stage where I always wore scarves but now, not so much. But I am starting to get a collection again and my drawer is bulging. I’ll have to try this. Thanks so much for sharing at Thriving on Thursdays. It’s always great to see you. I’m featuring this one at tomorrow’s party.

    Anne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Clever way to organize them. I have a built in wall unit in my closet that holds 8 large fabric baskets. One of them is filled with my scarves. Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for visiting my blog! I'd love to know what you think of my posts, so please leave a comment xx Fiona

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.