Harry Potter-inspired Easter Hat

This morning was my son’s Easter Hat Parade at school, so I think it’s ok to now share his hat design with you šŸ˜‰

I love Easter Hat time at school; there is so much colour, different ideas, glitter, great music for the kids to parade around, and lots of fun!
Easter bonnets

Even the teachers wear some sort of Easter themed head ware. One even dresses up as the Easter Bunny!

easter bunny

Harry Potter is big in our house at the moment, so naturally we thought we’d try for a HP-inspired hat. (Watch this space for a HP birthday party coming up in a few months, as well!)

Firstly, I looked through my Easter Pinterest board and happily discovered an idea I pinned last year – before Harry Potter became popular in our house. This idea for Dragon Eggs is from Catch My Party :

Dragon eggs

Easily adaptable to an Easter hat, of course!

This idea was particularly serendipitous, as I was helping my son do a book review last week, and he was doing it on Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. In this book, Harry has to complete 3 challenges, one being to steal an egg from a dragon. Haha!! Perfect!!

I bought some bits and pieces to make the hat, costing around $8:

Easter hat elements

The eggs were painted yellow, in preparation for being covered with gold glitter.

Easter hat painting

Easter hat glitter

It turned out that we only had enough gold glitter to cover two eggs, so the others were covered with silver glitter.

We arranged the stringy stuff (what on earth is it??) around the brim of the hat, then formed a nest on the top.

Easter hat construction (768x1024)

I’ve said it before and I’ll sat it again, if you have children, then you must invest in a hot glue gun. My friend joked that hot glue guns should be handed out when you leave hospital with your baby! It really won’t be too long before you’ll use it šŸ™‚ They getĀ a creativeĀ project made so quickly, and you don’t have to spend a lot of money getting a top of the range one. But you’ll be so pleased you have one. Mine’s just a small one from a discount shop, and has been going very nicely for many years.

PleaseĀ remember they are *hot* glue guns, and take appropriate care when using them.

So we hot glued the stringy stuff on, then arranged the glittered eggs on top.

Easter hat constructed (768x1024)

I downloaded a free Harry Potter font from dafont.com. This font is called Harry P. I’ve used dafont before hereĀ and here, and found they usually have a font that I need.

I printed up “Dragon Easter Eggs” using the new fontĀ and my son added the Harry Potter lightning bolt, laminated it, then glued one sign to each side of the hat.

Easter hat complete (768x1024)

Easter hat for boys, Harry Potter inspired (768x1024)

This hat didn’t take very long to make, and it impressed my son quite nicely! Lucky he is easy to please!

Easter hat, Harry Potter inspired (768x1024)

We find it challenging to come up with ideas for boys’ Easter Hats, but here are some we’ve put together over previous years. What’s your best Easter Hat for boys?

Linking up with:

Ramblings of a (Bad) Domestic Goddess – Turn it up Tuesday, The Dedicated House – Make it Pretty Monday,Ā Cedar Hill Farmhouse – The Scoop, The DIY Dreamer – From Dream to Reality,Ā Oh My Heartsie Girl – Wonderful Wednesday, Savvy Southern Style – Wow us Wednesdays,Ā The Crafty Wife – The Wednesday Roundup, Average But Inspired – The DIY Collective,Ā Designer Trapped in a Lawyer’s Body – DIY Like a Boss, Milk and Cuddles – The Mommy Linkup, 21 Rosemary Lane – Share Your Style, Posed Perfection – Creative Ways, Have a Daily Cup of Mrs Olsen – Share Your Cup, Lamberts Lately – Create it Thursday, Domesblissity – Thriving on Thursdays, Wondermom Wannabe – This is How we Roll, Sincerely, Paula, The Life of Jennifer Dawn – A Little Bird Told Me, A Tray of Bliss – Five Star Frou Frou, Too Much Time on My Hands – The Handmade Hangout, Love Bakes Good Cakes – Freedom Fridays,Ā The Pin Junkie, Life With Lorelei – Home Matters, Shoestring Elegance – What to do Weekends,Ā Oh My Heartsie Girl – Friday Features, Raising Fairies and Knights – Bloggers Spotlight, Strawberry Butterscotch – Saturday Shuffle, Ms Toody Goo Shoes – Best of the Weekend,Ā The Interior Frugalista – DIY Sunday Showcase, Nifty Thrifty Things,Ā Thoughts From Alice – Sundays at Home, My Husband Has Too Many Hobbies – Snickerdoodle Sunday,Ā That Recipe – Happiness is Homemade, Plucky’s Second Thought – Cooking and Crafting With J&J,Ā My Pinterventures – Merry Monday, Claire Justine – Creative Mondays,Ā Create With Joy – Inspire Me Monday, I Should Be Mopping the Floor – Inspiration Monday,Ā Pastels and Macarons – The Creative Corner, Yesterday on Tuesday – Project Inspired,Ā Lou Lou Girls, Kathe With an E – You’re Gonna Love it, Our Home Away From Home – Tuesdays at Our Home, Cozy Little House – Tweak it Tuesday, Ramblings of a (Bad) Domestic Goddess – Turn it up Tuesday, Cedar Hill Farmhouse – The Scoop,Ā The DIY Dreamer – From Dream to Reality,

16 thoughts on “Harry Potter-inspired Easter Hat

  1. I love the hat and my son is a big harry potter fan. Where did you get the grey string stuff..i cant seem to find it anywhere? Thanks

    Like

    • Hi Laura, I got it at a discount shop, maybe the Reject Shop. I haven’t noticed any this year yet, but we don’t have to make a hat for the first time so I’m not really looking! Hope you find it or something similar šŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Pingback: Bunny Butt Easter Hat | Saw it, Pinned it, Did it!

  3. This post put a big smile on my face! Love the hat and the creativity behind it! Thanks so much for sharing with us this week at Snickerdoodle Sunday!
    ~Laurie

    Like

Thanks for visiting my blog! I'd love to know what you think of my posts, so please leave a comment xx Fiona

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.