DIY Embellished Suede Ankle Boots

Earlier this year I saw some embellished suede ankle boots that caught my eye:

Kmart boots

I liked them so much that I took a photo! But I wasn’t completely sold on the colours…so I didn’t buy them.

I needed to replace my old black ankle boots which have faithfully seen me through the last several winters. Repairing them was going to cost about as much as a new pair! But maybe not as much as some of these pairs…

Embellished boot collage

Clockwise from top left they are by Forever21, Next, Dolce and Gabbana, and Zara. Aren’t they beautiful!

I bought a pair of plain suede boots, and waited for the universe to deliver me some embellishment inspiration! I checked Op Shops for scarves, lacy dresses, anything that I could use. But nothing jumped out at me. Until…I remembered some offcuts of lace that I had saved knowing that one day a project would come that they would be perfect for!

embellishment for boots

First of all I gave my new suede boots several coats of waterproofing spray, waiting for them to dry completely between coats.

Then I trimmed off the little bits of lace, and played around with how to place them on my boots

embellished boots 3

When I was happy with the placement, I glued them in place using Tarzan’s Grip. I used this glue as it says that dries clear, is flexible and water resistant. It is very thick, so I found the easiest thing to do was put a big glob of glue on my piece of lace, then ease it into place using a chopstick, trying to squeeze the glue right out to the edges!

When it was all glued, I thought it still needed something…so I checked my sparkle stash and found some small purple diamantes…and we all know that diamantes finish off any outfit, so on they went! These photos don’t show the sparkle off very well, which is unfortunate 😦
embellished boots (1)

embellished boots 2

They are not exactly the same as my bits of lace were random, but they are similar. I tried to balance the design out, but I like that they are not the same. They are not over the top decorated, and you don’t really see all of them when I wear them with jeans.

Another coat of waterproofing spray, and they’re done!

I was a bit worried about the purple sparkles falling off…but I’ve worn them a number of times over the past week and they are all still there. I think using Tarzan’s Grip was a good idea!

I’m really happy with how my DIY boots have turned out, and I enjoy wearing them. And I know that there is not going to be anyone else with boots that look like mine!

Will you give a pair of boots a make-over??

Linking up with:

Mother2Mother – Sundays Best, Claire Justine – Welcome to the Weekend, The Sits Girls – Sharefest, Hello Little Home – Best of the Weekend, Strawberry Butterscotch – Saturday Shuffle, Oh My Heartsie Girl – Friday Features, Coffee With Us 3 – Pretty Pintastic Party, Tatertots and Jello – Best Friday Features, Life With Lorelei – Home Matters, Twin Dragonfly Designs – The Handmade Hangout, Pin Junkie – Pin Party, Meet Our Life – Nifty Thrifty Sunday, Love of Home – Sundays at Home, My Husband Has Too Many Hobbies – Beautifully Made, My Husband Has Too Many Hobbies – Snickerdoodle Create, Bake, Make, That Recipe – Happiness is Homemade, DIY Show-Off – That DIY Party, Plucky’s Second Thought – Cooking and Crafting With J&J, My Pinterventures – Merry Monday, Claire Justine – Creative Mondays, I Should be Mopping the Floor – Inspiration Monday, DIY180 – Dishing It and Digging It, Lou Lou Girls Fabulous Party, Our Home Away From Home – Tuesdays at Our Home, The Dedicated House – Make it Pretty Monday, Cedar Hill Farmhouse – The Scoop,

One thought on “DIY Embellished Suede Ankle Boots

  1. Your boots are beautiful and exactly what I was hoping to find for ideas and inspiration. I have a black sued Earth Shoe which is comfortable but ugly ugly! I am going to try something like you did with your boots. Thanks for the glue tips as well.

    Like

Thanks for visiting my blog! I'd love to know what you think of my posts, so please leave a comment xx Fiona

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.