Getting Ready for Halloween

Around here most people don’t decorate for Halloween for much more than a few days. We usually put our decorations up on 31st October, and they are taken down some days later…when we get around to it!

Last year I was coming up with ideas and printing things off on the actual day. You can read about what we did last year here.

So this year the decorations are pretty much sorted, I just have to get down the box and put them up.

But this year we will be going to our friends’ house for dinner, after we’ve taken the boys out trick or treating.

So how do we deal with visiting Trick or Treaters, while not making it obvious that we are not home? (Actually, we haven’t quite decided on that one – there probably will be one of us here, while one of us is with the trick or treating group.)

I had an idea!

Firstly, I had in mind to make our treats ‘zombie anti-virus pills’, rather than just your usual lollies. I used this pin from my Halloween Pinterest board as my inspiration for this idea. When I’ve done something themed before it’s been appreciated by the kids and their parents.

I found this container full of small tic tacs which would work well.

Halloween sawitdidit.wordpress.com

And the ‘warning’ tape I knew could be put to great use once we left for dinner 😉

So I made up a few new signs:

Halloween Half of these treats contain zombie anti virus sawitdidit.wordpress.com

Halloween - if you take more than one treat .... sawitdidit.wordpress.com

I have a silver platter on which I will present the tic tac boxes, and I will have the two signs displayed above the platter. And the platter came from the op shop, so if it disappears it won’t ruin my day. But I’ll be unleashing the zombies on whoever might do that!

After we’ve walked around the block (visiting houses where people we know live) trick or treating, we’ll drop back past our house and tie up some of the warning tape across the driveway. And I’ll attach this sign:

Halloween - Danger Danger All who enter will be fed to the zombies sawitdidit.wordpress

All of these signs were made very simply. I downloaded two free fonts from Dafont.com – Miserable, and Anywhere But Home. Miserable is the ‘Danger Danger’ font, and Anywhere But Home is the ‘all who enter…’ font. The other signs just used fonts already in Microsoft Word. The zombie faces came from clipart, and the zombie figures I googled.

I know from previous experience that just turning all the lights off once all our treats are gone doesn’t deter people from knocking on our door later in the evening. Hopefully this will!

What do you think? Will it work?

I’ll update when it’s all over!

Sharing with:

Lamberts Lately – Create it Thursday, Table and Hearth – Think and Make Thursday, Love Bakes Good Cakes – Freedom Fridays, The Pin Junkie, To Simply Inspire – The Mommy Club, 21 Rosemary Lane – Share Your Style, Too Much Time on My Hands – The Handmade Hangout, Posed Perfection – Creative Ways, A Daily Cup of Mrs Olsen – Share Your Cup, The Princess and Her Cowboys – Wednesday Roundup, Savvy Southern Style – Wow us Wednesdays, Domesblissity – Thriving on Thursdays, Life With Lorelei – Home Matters, A Tray of Bliss – Five Star Frou Frou, Natasha in Oz – Sundays Down Under, The Interior Frugalista – DIY Sunday Showcase, Domestic Superhero – Pinworthy Projects, Oh My Heartsie Girl – Friday Features, 24 Cottonwood Lane – Best of the Weekend, The Pinterested Parent – Sunday’s Best, My Pinterventures – Merry Monday, Claire Justine – Creative Mondays, Create With Joy – Inspire Me Monday, I Should be Mopping The Floor – Inspiration Monday, Julie’s Lifestyle – Cooking and Crafting With J&J, Thoughts From Alice – Sundays at Home, Yesterday on Tuesday – Project inspired, Lou Lou Girls Fabulous Party, Merry About Town – Monday Funday, Kathe With an E – You’re Gonna Love it, Our Home Away From Home – Tuesdays at Our Home, Cosy Little House – Tweak it Tuesday, Pastels and Macarons – The Creative Corner,

13 thoughts on “Getting Ready for Halloween

  1. Pingback: Harry Potter-inspired Easter Hat | Saw it, pinned it, did it!

  2. That’s interesting that people there don’t decorate until Halloween. Here we decorate the first of Oct. and leave it up until Halloween. I start taking mine down the day after. Usually takes a couple of days. We really love our Halloween décor I guess. lol! Print outs are always fun! Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Like

    • I’ve seen a couple of houses that put up outdoor decorations a bit earlier – but that’s it, literally 2 houses! And I don’t know anyone who does indoor decorations unless they are having a party. But it does seem to be getting bigger in Australia, so no doubt things will start to change 🙂

      Like

  3. Pingback: Halloween 2015 | Saw it, pinned it, did it!

  4. My daughter is a zombie for Halloween this year. These are too cute! We’ve had problems in the past with late no-clue trick-or-treaters, too. What I’ve done the last couple years is add a sign to the door saying we are out of candy. It’s done the trick! Stopping by from Frou Frou.

    Like

Thanks for visiting my blog! I'd love to know what you think of my posts, so please leave a comment xx Fiona

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.