Pokémon Go Party – Part 2

Today’s party post will be a bit of a mismatch of ideas and photos – but all relating to the Pokémon Go party we held on the weekend for our 11 year old son…

As I’ve said in previous party posts, we begin thinking about the party in that quiet time after Christmas. I start a new Pinterest board, in this case Pokémon Party, and I usually start a word doc where I list any ideas that come up. This year I caught up with the times, and started a Google doc! It makes it easier to keep random thoughts together, until it comes time to start party planning proper 🙂

And the first thing that needs creating is the invitation.

I decided to model the invitations on the screen when a Pokemon has been caught, in the game Pokémon Go. I remembered there had been a special release of ‘party Pikachus’ on the game’s anniversary, so I searched for that image to use. Can’t get much more appropriate than that! I pinned it here.

Now, you don’t need to make it look exactly the same as your inspiration. I just needed to include a few details, in the style of the original…so this is the end result:

inviation 2017 adj

Simple! Didn’t even need the official font, although I had already downloaded it some years ago for our last Pokémon party. Emailed it off, and everyone responded within a day or two 🙂

For the decorations, we kept it quite simple.

We used red and black flag bunting, which we already had from a previous party. We hung the Pokeballs from the recent bedroom redo. I did imagine that we would use the other characters I created for Halloween, but the birthday boy thought the Pokeballs would be enough. I think it would have been better if they were there…

I covered the food table with cheap plastic red and white tablecloths joined with black tape. That looked pretty good!

We took the Pokémon Centre filled with plush toys which could have been used in an extra game if necessary, but they ended up just being decoration.

Unfortunately, I didn’t take very specific photos of these things, so you’ll just have to make do with these general pics 🙂

Pokemon party set upPokemon party table

This year, the personalised water bottles featured Snorlax Slobber. The boys thought that was hilarious!

Snorlax Slobber

The cake was actually quite simple. It was a half Pokeball. Not having an appropriately shaped tin in which to bake the cake, I made 2 round cakes and stacked them on top of each other. I carved them into a round shape. Covered with chocolate ganache and fondant, and finished off with licorice. Luckily, Aldi had cake decorating items on sale in the weeks leading up to the party!

No, it’s not perfect. But you certainly can tell what it’s supposed to be!

pokeball cake

Pokeball cake and candles

Finally, the party bags.

Early in the year I ordered some items from eBay – silicone wrist bands and keyrings. The party bag included one of each.

I also took this idea, and made up bags of Energy Candy. I just included a mix of round lollies.

If they wanted, the boys also took home their water bottles, the catapults we made in the first party game, and a Pokeball from the same game.

This all went in a plain brown paper bag, printed with a thank you message. I got to use the proper Pokémon font for this!

Pokemon party bag

Linking up with:

Plucky’s Second Thought – Cooking and Crafting with J&J, My Pinterventures – Merry Monday, Claire Justine – Creative Mondays, Create With Joy – Inspire me Monday, I Should be Mopping the Floor – Inspiration Monday, Yesterday on Tuesday – Project Inspired, The DIY Mommy – The Creative Corner, My Husband Has Too Many Hobbies – Brag About It, DIY180 – Dishing It and Digging It, Lou Lou Girls Fabulous Party, Being a Wordsmith – Turn it up Tuesday, Cedar Hill Farmhouse – The Scoop, The DIY Dreamer – From Dream to Reality, Oh My Heartsie Girl – Wonderful Wednesday, Savvy Southern Style – Wow us Wednesdays,  Claire Justine – Wednesday Blog Hop, 21 Rosemary Lane – Share Your Style, Organized 31 – This is How we Roll, Sincerely, Paula – No Rules Weekend Blog Party, Twin Dragonfly Designs – The Handmade Hangout, The Pin Junkie, Life With Lorelei – Home Matters, Shoestring Elegance – What to do Weekends, Raising Fairies and Knights – Bloggers Spotlight, Simply Sweet Home – Friday Favourites, Tatertots and Jello – Best Friday Features, Oh My Heartsie Girl – Friday Features, The Sits Girls – Saturday Sharefest,Strawberry Butterscotch – Saturday Shuffle, Little Miss Celebration – Best of the Weekend, Nifty Thrifty Things, Love of Home – Sundays at Home, My Husband Has Too Many Hobbies – Snickerdoodle Create, Bake, Make, That Recipe – Happiness is Homemade, The DIY Showoff – That DIY Party, Mother2Mother – Sunday’s Best,

3 thoughts on “Pokémon Go Party – Part 2

  1. Pingback: Pokemon Go party – the games | Saw it, Pinned it, Did it!

Thanks for visiting my blog! I'd love to know what you think of my posts, so please leave a comment xx Fiona

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.